Articles / Presidential Award Honoring Dr. Juan Gilbert

Presidential Award Honoring Dr. Juan Gilbert

Posted on: January 7th, 2012 by No Comments

The White House Honors Dr. Juan Gilbert

By: Sorilbran Buckner,

Dr. Juan Gilbert is one of nine individuals and eight organizations who has received the Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring at the White House in 2011. The award recognizes the efforts of those individuals who are committed to demonstrating leadership through service by providing students in elementary through graduate school mentorship to encourage and prepare the next generation of scientists and engineers, particularly those from underrepresented minority groups.

The Presidential Award is a distinguished honor, reserved for those STEM proponents who understand the importance STEM education plays in both the personal and academic development of the nation’s young people. Mentors lend their experiential expertise to tomorrow’s creative class of innovators, ensuring that the future of this country’s labor force includes a diverse mix of scientists and engineers.

Dr. Gilbert has a long list of achievements which lead up to the Presidential Award.  In addition to serving as the IDEaS Professor and Chair of Human-Centered Computing, School of Computing at Clemson University, Dr. Gilbert is also a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), an ACM Distinguished Scientist, National Associate of the National Research Council of the National Academies, an ACM Distinguished Speaker and a Senior Member of the IEEE Computer Society. As well, Dr. Gilbert was recently named one of the 50 most important African-Americans in Technology.

Dr. Gilbert and his brilliant team developed Prime III, a universal voting machine which allows citizens to privately cast their ballots using touch and/or voice commands. They also invented Voiceing (, we have also invented the African American Distributed Multiple Learning Styles System (, an interactive game-like environment that uses culturally relevant cues, gestures, sounds and lyrics to teach students algebra.

Candidates for the Presidential Award are nominated by their colleagues, students and the administrators at their institutions. The award comes with a $25,000 gift from the National Science Foundation to advance recipients’ mentoring efforts.

2010 Recipients Being Honored
• Solomon Bililign, North Carolina Agricultural & Technical State University, NC
• Peggy Cebe, Tufts University, MA
• Roy Clarke, University of Michigan Ann Arbor, MI
• Amelito Enriquez, Cañada College, CA
• Karen Panetta, Tufts University, MA
• ACE Mentor Program of America, CT
• Ocean Discovery Institute, CA
• Women’s Health Science Program for High School Girls and Beyond, Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine, IL

2011 Recipients Being Honored
• Winston Anderson, Howard University, DC
• Juan E. Gilbert, Clemson University, SC
• Shaik Jeelani, Tuskegee University, AL
• Andrew Tsin, University of Texas at San Antonio, TX
• Camp Reach, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, MA
• Diversity Programs in Engineering, Cornell University, NY
• The Mathematical and Theoretical Biology Institute, Arizona State University, AZ
• The Stanford Medical Youth Science Program, Stanford University, CA
• University of California San Francisco Science & Health Education Partnership High School Intern Program, CA

To read Dr. Juan Gilbert’s STEMcp profile click here.